FIRE PREVENTION ORDER

NEVADA STATE OFFICE BUREAU OF LAND MANAGEMENT DEPARTMENT OF INTERIOR

Under the authority of the Federal Land Policy and Management Act of 1976 (Title 43 U.S.C. 1701 et. seq.), in accordance with 43 CFR 9212.0-6, the following acts are prohibited or restricted on all public land areas, roads and trails located within and managed by the BLM Nevada State Office.

Acts Restricted by Fire Prevention Order Pursuant to 43 CFR 9212.1

- 1. Possessing, discharging, using or allowing the use of fireworks, pyrotechnic or incendiary devices.
- 2. Possessing, discharging, igniting or causing to burn; explosives or explosive material, including binary explosive targets.
- 3. Discharging a firearm using tracer, incendiary, or steel-component ammunition. [Use of tracer or incendiary ammunition is always prohibited on public lands].
- 4. Operating or using any internal or external combustion engine without a spark arresting device properly installed, maintained and in effective working order.

Acts Recommended by Fire Prevention Order

1. Possession of shovel, fire extinguisher and/or at least 5 gallons of water should be on hand in the event of an unintentional fire start.

Pursuant to 43 CFR 9212.2, of the following is exempt from this order:

- 1. Person with a permit specifically authorizing the otherwise prohibited act or omission.
- 2. Any federal, state, or local officer, or member of an organized rescue or firefighting force in the performance of an official duty.
- 3. Persons involved with the requirement of privacy for Tribal activities for traditional or cultural use.

Penalties (43 CFR 9212.4): Anyone in violation of this Fire Prevention Order may be subject to civil liability or criminal prosecution under any applicable law or BLM regulation. A violation of this Order may be classified as a Class A Misdemeanor Offense under 43 USC 1733(a) FLPMA, 18 USC 3559. Pursuant to 18 USC 3571, if the violation does not result in death, anyone who violates this order may be fined not more than \$100,000 and/or imprisoned for not more than 12 months. Liability for total fire suppression and damage costs incurred will be borne by the responsible party.

This Fire Prevention Order is effective 12:01 AM, on the 1st day of May 2025 and will remain in effect until the 31st day of October, unless rescinded.

Kimberly Prill, acting Nevada State Director

Date of Issue